Jeffbert's Mighty Atom book

Talk about all things Astro Boy!
jeffbert
Minister of Science

Jeffbert's Mighty Atom book

Postby jeffbert » 6 years ago

:cry: Seems like the forum is all but deserted. :x Well, I guess I must liven it up a bit.

As some of you know, I have been working on an Astroboy book for several years, though it might never be, it gives me something to do. I have written a good deal so far, but putting it all together is taking time. That, plus the fact that I figure if anyone should take it seriously, it ought to have a few pages of references - a bibliography, & such. I have books by F. Schodt, F. Ladd, & several other English-language books about Tezuka or Atom. Because Atom is a Japanese creation, at least some of these sources should be in the Japanese language.

So far, I have
  1. DVDs
  2. Reprints of original versions of comics
  3. Kappa Comics
  4. Kobunsha Comics
  5. all 6 volumes of Tezuka Characters Guides
  6. several other JLV books
But looking at Schodt's ASTROBOY ESSAYS' bibliography, :whistling: over five pages, & he has a notes section, with over 100 items. :ninja: Powers' book has 5 pages of nothing but Tezuka works. Her entire bibliography is 20 pages!

So, I need more sources, if I hope some publisher will take my book seriously.

I am open to questions/discussions on this subject. I am not likely to give away much of what I am writing, though. :astro:

fafner
Cosmic Ranger

Re: Jeffbert'a Mighty Atom book

Postby fafner » 6 years ago

Most of idle chat has turned to discordapp, which may give an impression of the forum being inactive.

I'm not exactly sure what is your problem, are you afraid that you don't have enough references and potential publishers won't take you seriously ? I know personally someone who has published 2 books already (in video games, so not exactly the same topic), and there was not even a full page of sources. If you want, I can ask him to give you advice on this matter.